top of page
Tim Kennedy New Headshot_edited_edited.png


Founder and artistic director emeritus

Tim Kennedy founded BOU in 1985 and was Artistic Director for 37 Years.  Tim retired in 2022 but is still active as  artistic consultant.

Screen Shot 2023-08-02 at 11.18.27 AM.png


Artistic Director

Matt is a conductor, vocal coach, and collaborative pianist based in Buffalo. He conducted BOU’s Silent Night in 2018 and L’elisir d’amore in 2019. His operatic experience extends to Amarillo Opera in Texas, the Center for Contemporary Opera in New York City, Opera Tampa in Florida, and the Savannah VOICE Festival in Georgia, where renowned dramatic baritone Sherrill Milnes shares his performing experience.

He is Clinical Assistant Professor in the University at Buffalo’s Department of Theatre and Dance, teaching courses in musicianship and music directing all curricular musicals.

Matt has performed with the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra, including the 2022 Carnegie Hall performance, Naxos recording sessions, and concerts on both the Classics and Pops series. He has also performed with Civic Morning Musicals in Syracuse and the National Choral Festival at Carnegie Hall.

Locally, he has performed in various capacities with Nickel City Opera, the Orchard Park Symphony, the Western New York Chamber Orchestra, the Hillman Opera Company, Opera-Lytes, Buffalo Master Chorale, the Buffalo Gay Men’s Chorus, the Buffalo Chamber Players, Friends of Vienna, and the Western New York Chamber Orchestra.

Marco studied piano with Anne Kissel and François Germain and conducting with Paul Ferington and Brian Doyle.


Development/marketing director

A Western New York native, Honan brings over 25 years of industry knowledge in marketing and event management. Former CMO of the Buffalo Bills, his passion and work ethic is contagious.

As Development/marketing director Honan will work with the BOU Team on event planning, fundraising, content development and marketing strategies.

2022 Events.jpg


Lee Ann Grace, Board President
Karen Podd, Vice President
Ann Williams, Secretary
Ellen Kennedy, Treasurer
Sylvia Bennett
Rick Fleming
Marty Wimmer

For information on becoming a Board Member  please email Lee Ann Grace at

Meet the Team: Meet the Team
bottom of page